fbpx

An Die Musik

with Steve Obasi Akoto Kirby's Oceanic Jazz Orchestra

08 Dec 2020 Baltimore, MD

Details

Time : 7pm
Venue : An Die Musik
Address : 409 N. Charles Street
State : MD
Zip : 21201
Phone : 410.385.2638
Contact Website : https://www.instantseats.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=home.event&eventID=E33AD1E2-B88B-1AA6-44272A141A57D09B
With Steve Obasi Akoto Kirby’s Oceanic Jazz Orchestra LIVE STREAMING CONCERT
Obasi Akoto, bass and Director
Anna-Lisa Kirby, vocals
Todd Marcus, clarinets
Warren Wolf, vibes
Eric Kennedy, drums
Tim Green, alto sax
Grant Langford, sax
John Lee, guitar
Showtime is 7 pm ET/6 pm CT/5 pm MT/4 pm PT/11 pm GMT
Streaming cost of $10
“Steve Kirby IS A BADASS. Every once in a while a project comes in that just blows me away. This was the 2016 project. It is an amazing record on so many levels. It moved me.” Mark Wilder, Sony Music recording engineer
“Steve Kirby, like an alchemist, brews all these ingredients together and concocts listening universes that are both intellectually stimulating and musically pleasing, for both specialized and secular ears” Fredric Cardin, ICI Musique
Obasi Akoto presents the Oceanic Jazz Orchestra Chamber Group, featuring the music he originally composed and orchestrated for his 2017 full-length orchestral release entitled “All Over The Map” This chamber group remix marks the start of a new take on his compositions. The album has been described as “impassioned and transformative” and has cemented him as a prolific composer and orchestrator:
“All Over the Map introduces the fresh and adventurous sound of Obasi Akoto’s Oceanic Jazz Orchestra (OJO). Led by composer and jazz bassist Obasi Akoto, OJO is a hybrid jazz-classical ensemble, with instruments like bassoon, oboe, pedal steel, and classical violin folded in alongside vibes, trumpet, saxophone, flute, and vocals. The compositions are equally far-ranging in their rhythmic and structural qualities, borrowing from jazz, folk, rock, hip hop, baroque, French impressionist, electronic, and tango.
Relatively new to the DMV music scene, Obasi Akoto is well known for his work with Elvin Jones Jazz Machine and Baltimore’s own, Cyrus Chestnut. Veteran bassist Obasi Akoto has had a long and distinguished career performing and recording with some of the most important jazz musicians in the world: Wynton Marsalis, Kathleen Battle, Abbey Lincoln, Regina Carter, James Carter, Warren Wolf, Stefon Harris, Terreon Gully, Jimmy Greene, Mulgrew Miller, Kenny Barron, Geoff Keezer, Miguel Zenon, Joanne Brackeen, Steve Turre, Jacky Terrasson, Joe Lovano, Eddie Henderson, Benny Green, Slide Hampton, Lester Bowie, Antoine Roney, Eric Lewis, and Winard Harper.
Obasi has appeared on many recordings as a sideman and two others as a leader and composer: Wicked Grin and Stepchild, featuring the University of Manitoba Jazz Faculty Ensemble. After 15 years at the helm of the University of Manitoba Jazz Studies program, Obasi Akoto is now retired and living in Baltimore, happy to be devoting himself to his career as a full-time performer, composer and recording artist.
© Todd Marcus Jazz